Siobhan Airey

Siobhan Airey

Doctoral student

Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa

 

Biography

When Siobhan Airey decided to pursue doctoral studies, she was sure most faculties of law would consider her an anomaly. She is a mature student with permanent resident status who wanted to do a Ph.D. in law without having a law degree.

But it didn't seem to be an obstacle at the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa. As a matter of fact, the help and encouragement provided by the staff at the Faculty's Graduate Studies office, particularly from admissions officer Florence Downing, were the reasons she ultimately chose Ottawa.

“What struck me about the University of Ottawa is the sense of a team," Siobhan said. "You were meeting with staff who really understood the kind of challenge an atypical student faces.”

Siobhan was interested throughout her life in social justice issues while growing up in a rural area of the South of Ireland. That interest was inspired by parents who took an active involvement in what was happening in their community.

Following a degree in Communications Studies, she pursued a Masters in Equality Studies at University College Dublin looking at the development model proposed by international institutions such as the World Bank. She got first-hand experience on the impact of international organizations on people’s lives while working for an NGO in Bangladesh for more than two years. Upon her return, she completed an LL.M. in international human rights law at the National University of Ireland.

“It really introduced me to the international legal realm which is the architecture that shapes how states relate to each other. I began to understand the role that law plays and its links with other kind of institutions of global governance."

After moving to Canada in 2007, she worked as a consultant in public policy and for mining companies, producing reports on complex issues with short deadline. A Ph.D. became something she put on her bucket-list.

“It was like - on my death bed, do you want to have done something or not? And I said, I’m going for my doctorate.”

She opted for the University of Ottawa because of its proficiency in international law whether it related to trade, human rights, economy or environment as well as for the kind of research that was bubbling up from the faculty and student body.

“I really like thinking about how we think about things. I really like the theoretical aspect and I was supported to do that at the Faculty of Law.”

Her thesis analyses the unique ways that official development assistance shapes the legal rights and duties of donor and aid-recipient states.

To advance her research, she was encouraged by her thesis supervisor, Professor Penelope Simons, and by Professor Heather McLeod-Kilmurray, who was then vice-dean of Graduate Studies, to take every opportunity offered to her. She participated in an international conference at the Harvard Law School Institute of Global Law and Policy Research in 2013 and found herself invited back again in 2014 and 2015. 

She earned scholarships to do a semester abroad studying first at the Centre for East African Legal Studies in Tanzania, then at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy, and finally in Australia at the Centre of International Governance and Justice in Canberra. She met with renowned scholars discussing numerous topics including new non-legal forms of global governance, the role of human rights in international governance and the future of women’s engagement in international law.

Now that her thesis is almost completed, Siobhan is looking forward to be a career scholar helping us understand the multiple facets of international law and its changing role in global governance.

 

Back to top

Siobhan Airey

Siobhan Airey

Diplômée du Doctorat en droit (2020)

Faculté de droit
Université d'Ottawa

 

Biographie

Une anomalie. C’est l’impression que Siobhan Airey croyait donner à la plupart des facultés de droit en voulant s’inscrire au doctorat compte tenu de son statut de résidente permanente, mais surtout parce qu’elle n’était pas avocate.

Cela n’a pas été un obstacle à l’Université d’Ottawa. Au contraire, Siobhan s’est tout de suite sentie soutenue par le Bureau des Études supérieures de la Faculté et par son agente d’admission, Florence Downing.

« Ce qui m’a frappé à l’Université d’Ottawa, c’est son esprit d’équipe, a déclaré Siobhan. Je faisais affaire avec des employés qui comprenaient les défis des étudiants atypiques. »

La doctorante est issue d’une famille du sud de l’Irlande très impliquée dans le développement communautaire. Il n’est donc pas étonnant de voir Siobhan embrasser les causes de justice sociale et de vouloir les défendre.

Après un baccalauréat en communication, Siobhan a terminé une maîtrise en études de l’égalité des genres au University College Dublin. Elle s’intéressait alors aux modèles de développement prônés par les institutions internationales, comme la Banque mondiale. L’occasion lui est ensuite donnée de voir ce qui se passait sur le terrain en travaillant pour une grande ONG au Bangladesh. Cette expérience l’a poussée à compléter une maîtrise en droit international des droits humains à la National University of Ireland.

« J’ai alors découvert le monde du droit international, c’est-à-dire l’architecture qui détermine comment les États interagissent entre eux. J’ai commencé à comprendre le rôle du droit et ses liens avec les institutions de gouvernance mondiale. »

L’idée de mener des études doctorales est devenue de plus en plus pressante après son arrivée au Canada en 2007. Elle agissait alors comme consultante en politiques publiques, enchaînant la rédaction de rapport sur des sujets hautement complexes.

« C’était comme si j’étais sur mon lit de mort. Je me disais : qu’est-ce que je veux accomplir ? Et la réponse était claire. Un doctorat. »

Elle a opté pour l’Université d’Ottawa en raison de son expertise en droit international que ce soit en matière de commerce, de droits humains, d’économie ou d’environnement, et aussi à cause des études provenant des corps professoral et étudiant.

« J’aime beaucoup m’attarder à la façon dont on pense aux concepts. J’aime l’aspect théorique des choses et j’ai été encouragée à le faire à la Faculté de droit. »  

Sa thèse analyse comment l’aide publique au développement façonne les droits et devoirs des donateurs et des pays bénéficiaires. La professeure Penelope Simons, sa directrice de thèse, et la professeure Heather McLeod-Kilmuray, alors vice-doyenne des Études supérieures, l’ont incitée à profiter de chaque éventualité qui pourrait faire avancer ses recherches. Elle a suivi ce conseil à la lettre ce qui lui a donné la chance de participer en 2013 à un colloque du Institute of Global Law and Policy Research de la Faculté de droit de l’Université Harvard et d’y a être invitée à nouveau en 2014 et 2015.

Elle a également complété une session universitaire à l’étranger grâce à une bourse d’études. Elle s’est rendue au Centre for East African Legal Studies, en Tanzanie, puis au European University Institute de Florence, en Italie et finalement à Canberra, en Australie, au Centre of International Governance and Justice. Ces séjours lui ont permis de côtoyer des universitaires éminents et d’échanger sur différents sujets dont les nouveaux modèles non juridiques de gouvernance mondiale, le rôle des droits humains dans la gouvernance internationale et l’implication des femmes en droit international.

Maintenant que sa thèse est presque terminée, Siobhan est enthousiasmée à l’idée de mener une carrière de chercheur nous aidant à mieux comprendre les facettes du droit international et le rôle changeant de la gouvernance mondiale.

 

Haut de page