Melisa Handl

Doctoral student

Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa

 

Biography

When Melisa Handl enrolled in the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa in 2012, she was attracted by its specialization in human rights and social justice. What she found was more than people sharing knowledge on these issues. She found the perfect match for her.

“I could work with people with whom I share the same assumptions on how the world works, and about what is important for us as researchers to capture or what is being marginalized by mainstream research.”

Empirical research - the kind of dogged detective work used in fact-finding investigations - was the foundation of Professor Angela Cameron’s career. Melisa took a class on Legal theory with Professor Cameron for her Master degree at the Faculty of Law while writing her thesis. That class kindled a keen interest in empirical research that would eventually be used for her Ph. D. studies.

She had her mind set on analyzing conditional cash transfers policies in Argentina from a gender perspective. The Argentine government provides a Universal Child Allowance to poor women as long as they accept to receive prenatal care and send their children to school all the while providing proof of their compliance.

“Is it to discipline the mother to take care of their kids? I don’t understand why the program needs to be conditional to meet human rights. In a way, human rights are supposed to be universal,” she said.

Melisa was also attracted by the opportunity to do interdisciplinary research, which the University encourages. Her research is at the crossroads of law and sociology with a very strong component on development studies.

Her supervising committee is composed of law professors Angela Cameron and Marie-Eve Sylvestre, who researches the regulation of the poor and the criminalization of poverty. She can also count on Prof. Susan Spronk from the Faculty of Social Sciences who is working in development and has researched issues in Latin America.

Melisa has conducted interviews with two child allowance recipients as part of her preliminary findings. She discovered that these women felt burdened by the requirements needed to receive social assistance. According to the women, they were unnecessary because they were anyways planning to register their children for school and ensure that they received primary medical care.

“They materialized these restrictions in a way that it turns into a disciplinary mechanism, this is what ‘good mothers’ are supposed to do. There is a constant reinforcement that women are the main caretakers and I don’t see how it is empowering for women.”

Melisa thinks that to be socially transformative the government needs to address the role of men in the responsibility of care. That issue came to the forefront during conversations with other Faculty’s graduate students who have been a great source of support.

“We all have a legal methodology background and we think, to some extent, in the way we were trained to think as lawyers, but at the same time, each of us has a particular perspective and a very specific knowledge, so mutual feedback and cross-training can be very enlightening.”

Being co-president of the Graduate Law Students Association and participating in discussions at the Human Rights Research and Education Centre has given her a chance to debate ideas in a respectful atmosphere while avoiding the isolation that can occur during research studies.

Melisa would like to take on the challenge of teaching in the future while pursuing research.

“It’s meant for me. I like the process of checking and making sense of information, lots of information, and critically looking for paradoxes. It’s never black or white.”

It is those shades of gray, she feels, that makes the profession fascinating.

 

Back to top

Melisa Handl

Étudiante au doctorat

Faculté de droit
Université d'Ottawa

 

Biographie

Melisa Handl s’est inscrite en droit à l’Université d’Ottawa, attirée par sa concentration en justice sociale et son Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP). Mais une fois sa maîtrise entamée, elle a découvert un corps professoral et un environnement qui dépassaient ses attentes. Elle s’est trouvée en présence de juristes et d’étudiants qui partageaient ses perspectives sur la recherche.

« Je pouvais travailler avec des gens qui abordaient les problèmes avec ouverture et pour qui il importait de discerner ce qui est marginalisé dans la recherche traditionnelle afin de s’y attaquer. »

Elle a eu une preuve supplémentaire de cette complicité pendant le séminaire de Théorie juridique. Il était mené par la professeure Angela Cameron, réputée pour ses connaissances en recherche empirique. C’était exactement le type de méthodologie qu’elle voulait utiliser pour ses études doctorales. Il lui fallait aussi trouver une institution ouverte à l’étude de plusieurs spécialités des sciences humaines. Melisa s’est vite rendu compte de l’engagement de l’Université d’Ottawa à l’égard de l’interdisciplinarité pour faire avancer les connaissances.

Les recherches de Melisa se trouvent à la croisée du droit et de la sociologie avec une composante en développement international et mondialisation.
Elles portent sur les politiques argentines de transferts monétaires conditionnels du point de vue du genre. Le gouvernement argentin procure aux femmes pauvres une allocation universelle pour enfant tant et aussi longtemps qu’elles prouvent avoir reçu des soins prénataux et démontrent que leurs enfants vont à l’école.

« Est-on en train de discipliner la mère afin qu’elle s’occupe de ses enfants ? Je ne comprends pas pourquoi le programme impose des restrictions pour répondre aux droits de la personne. Ces droits ne devraient-ils pas être universels ? »

Son comité de thèse est composé de la professeure de droit Angela Cameron, experte des questions entourant l’égalité des femmes et de sa collègue Marie-Eve Sylvestre, spécialiste de l’étude de la réglementation et de la criminalisation des pauvres. Il comprend aussi la professeure Susan Spronk de la Faculté des Sciences sociales qui a analysé plusieurs problématiques sud-américaines.

Au cours de ses recherches préliminaires, Melisa a interviewé deux bénéficiaires de l’allocation pour enfant. Ces mères se sont dites affligées par les exigences des services sociaux. Elles jugent les conditions inutiles parce qu’elles prévoyaient recevoir des soins médicaux pendant leur grossesse et inscrire leurs enfants à l’école.

« Les restrictions de l’État sont devenues pour ces mères des mesures disciplinaires et laissent sous-entendre qu’une bonne mère obéit à ces conditions. Cela renforce l’idée que la mère est la principale responsable de l’éducation des enfants. Je ne vois pas comment cela encourage leur autonomisation. »

Melisa croit que si le gouvernement veut amener des changements sociaux positifs, il doit prendre en considération le rôle de l’homme dans l’éducation des enfants.

Cette question a d’ailleurs été soulevée lors d’échanges avec les autres doctorants associés au CREDP. Ces discussions se déroulent dans un environnement respectueux et permettent, selon elle, de briser l’isolement associé aux recherches doctorales.

« Nous connaissons tous la méthodologie juridique et nous avons tous été formés pour penser comme des avocats. Toutefois, chacun de nous a sa propre perspective et des connaissances spécifiques à son champ d’études de sorte que la rétroaction est très enrichissante et nourrit notre réflexion. »

Cette camaraderie l’a incitée à s’engager auprès de ses pairs en devenant coprésidente de l’Association des étudiants des études supérieures en droit. Une fois son doctorat terminé, Melisa désire enseigner tout en poursuivant ses recherches.

« L’enseignement c’est fait pour moi. J’aime ce processus de vérification des informations, beaucoup d’informations, et d’y trouver les paradoxes. Ce n’est jamais noir ou blanc. »

Ce sont ces nuances de gris qui, selon elle, rendent la profession fascinante.

 

Haut de page