Master of Laws Concentration in International Trade and Foreign Investment Law: Get ready to work in international economic law and dispute settlement and influence global economic policy


The Master of Laws Concentration in International Trade and Foreign Investment Law has been ranked as one of the world’s top-ranked LLM programs in international trade law / WTO law by the LLM Guide to master of laws programs worldwide. With the largest number of professors specialized in international trade and investment law in North America, the program will give you access to a unique pool of experts. You’ll be immersed in a dynamic trade and investment law community in Canada’s capital, with professionals involved in international disputes and interstate economic relations regularly invited as guest lecturers.

The Master of Laws Concentration in International Trade and Foreign Investment Law will allow you to:

  • Gain a thorough understanding of trade and investment treaties and dispute settlement, including how to negotiate treaties and defend national interests.
  • Develop the expertise you need to work as a trade treaty negotiator, litigator or trade and investment policy adviser in government, law firms, international organizations or NGOs.
  • Build a professional network in the nation’s capital, home to Global Affairs Canada, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, private law firms with trade and investment practices and NGOs focused on global issues.
  • Learn about cutting-edge research and prepare for a doctoral program.

Overview: Master of Laws with Concentration in International Trade and Foreign Investment Law

 

Questions on admissions? Email us for more on graduate studies at the Faculty of Law.

 

I acquired a solid foundation in international investment law and dispute resolution at the University of Ottawa. Its program is renowned abroad given its excellent faculty members and the quality of their lectures. During my degree, I also had the opportunity to improve my writing, a skill greatly valued by big law firms. It was a great experience to work within a small group of students, taught by professors who took the time to deliver relevant feedback.

Agata Zwolankiewicz, Associate at Clifford Chance
LLM Concentration in International Trade and Foreign Investment Law ’20

_______________________________________________________________________________

The LLM in International Trade and Foreign Investment Law exposed me to the key areas and principles of this field, giving me a strong foundation of knowledge of applicable rules in its diverse specialized areas. While my current practice specializes in trade remedies, it’s important for me to have a good understanding of other areas of international trade and investment law to identify and advise on legal issues arising in these areas in litigation or when providing legal advice. This degree helped me obtain my current position practising in WTO litigation, trade negotiations and trade law.

Dean MacDougall, BEng, LLB, LLM, Counsel, Trade Law Bureau, Government of Canada
LLM Concentration in International Trade and Foreign Investment Law ’16

_______________________________________________________________________________

Program highlight: Study and discuss the implications of real-world disputes

DCL 6350 
International Economic Law Case Studies (3 units)
Professor: Céline Levesque

Some of the most challenging issues of international economic law arise in litigation. This course will allow you to think through issues in the context of an actual dispute, borrowing from the case method developed in MBA programs. The course typically uses the investment chapter of one of Canada’s international economic law treaties (e.g., CUSMA, CPTPP, CETA) as a backdrop. As a student, you will enjoy being an active participant. You will get to know an investment arbitration claim and go through the stages of the claim, including evidence gathering, preliminary research, claim assessment, in-depth research, elaboration of a theory of the case and drafting the outline of a memorial.

Back to top

Maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers : préparez-vous à travailler en droit économique international et en règlement des différends et à influencer les politiques économiques mondiales


Selon le LLM Guide (en anglais), qui classe les programmes de maîtrise en droit à l’échelle mondiale, la maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers figure parmi les meilleurs programmes de LL.M. au monde dans les domaines du droit commercial international et des règles de l’OMC. Comptant le plus grand corps professoral spécialisé en droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers en Amérique du Nord, ce programme vous donnera accès à un groupe unique d’expertes et d’experts. Vous évoluerez au sein de la dynamique communauté ottavienne du commerce et des investissements aux côtés de professionnelles et de professionnels qui interviennent dans les différends internationaux et les relations économiques interétatiques, et qui sont régulièrement invités à donner des conférences.

Le programme de maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers vous permettra de :

  • bien comprendre les accords sur le commerce et les investissements ainsi que le règlement des différends, y compris la négociation des accords et la défense des intérêts nationaux;
  • développer l’expertise nécessaire pour négocier des accords commerciaux, travailler en plaidoirie ou fournir des conseils stratégiques sur le commerce et les investissements dans le secteur public, les cabinets d’avocats, les organisations internationales et les ONG;
  • bâtir un réseau professionnel dans la capitale nationale, où se trouvent Affaires mondiales Canada, le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur, des cabinets d’avocats du domaine et des ONG spécialisées dans les enjeux mondiaux;
  • découvrir des recherches de pointe et vous préparer à un programme de doctorat.

Aperçu : maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit du commerce international et des
investissements étrangers

 

Des questions sur l’admission? Écrivez-nous pour en savoir plus sur les études supérieures à la Faculté de droit.

 

À l’Université d’Ottawa, j’ai acquis une solide formation de base en droit des investissements étrangers et en règlement des différends. Le programme est reconnu à l’étranger grâce à son excellent corps professoral et à la qualité de ses cours magistraux. Il m’a aussi donné l’occasion d’améliorer mes compétences en rédaction, auxquelles les grands cabinets d’avocats attachent beaucoup d’importance. Ce fut une belle expérience d’étudier dans un petit groupe, et d’apprendre auprès de professeures et de professeurs qui prenaient le temps de me donner des commentaires constructifs.

Agata Zwolankiewicz, Avocate adjointe chez Clifford Chance
LL.M. avec concentration en droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers 2020

_______________________________________________________________________________

Le programme de LL.M. avec concentration en droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers m’a fait connaître les grands thèmes et principes du domaine, me permettant ainsi d’acquérir de solides connaissances fondamentales sur les règles applicables à ses divers secteurs spécialisés. Bien que mon cabinet actuel s’intéresse surtout aux recours commerciaux, je trouve important de bien comprendre d’autres facettes du droit du commerce international et des investissements afin de cerner et d’éclaircir les questions soulevées dans les litiges en la matière ou de fournir des avis juridiques. Ce diplôme m’a aidée à obtenir mon poste actuel dans les domaines des litiges à l’OMC, des négociations commerciales et du droit commercial..

Dean MacDougall, B.Ing., LL.B., LL.M., Avocat, Direction générale du droit commercial, gouvernement du Canada
LL.M. avec concentration en droit du commerce international et des investissements étrangers 2016

_______________________________________________________________________________

En vedette : analyses et discussions sur les implications de différends réels

DCL 6350 
International Economic Law Case Studies (3 units)
Professeure : Céline Levesque

Certaines des questions les plus complexes en droit économique international se rapportent aux litiges. Ce cours vous permettra de réfléchir à ces questions dans le contexte d’un différend réel, au moyen de la méthode des cas établie dans les programmes de MBA. Habituellement, il utilise comme toile de fond le chapitre sur l’investissement de l’un des accords économiques internationaux du Canada (p. ex. ACEUM, PTPGP, AECG). En tant qu’étudiante ou étudiant, vous y participerez activement. Vous vous familiariserez avec une demande d’arbitrage d’investissement et passerez par toutes ses étapes : collecte d’éléments de preuve, recherche préliminaire, évaluation de la demande, recherche approfondie, élaboration d’une théorie et rédaction des grandes lignes d’un mémoire.

Haut de page