Master of Laws (LLM) with concentration in Notarial Law: at the heart of key transactions


Program offered in French only. Assignments may be submitted in French or in English.

The professional training offered in the Master of Laws with concentration in Notarial Law program is based on practical learning: starting in your first term, you will spend one day a week as an intern in a professional setting. In addition to other topics, you will tackle preventive law and succession issues through simulations and case studies, rather than exams, in order to foster a multidisciplinary approach.

A Master of Laws (LLM) with concentration in Notarial Law will enable you to:

  • Benefit from personal coaching from seasoned notaries public up to qualification as a member of the Ordre de la Chambre des notaires du Québec.
  • Gain the legal knowledge and skills needed to practice as a notary public in legal fields such as real estate law, inheritance law, business law, and family law.
  • Learn more about the legal world and develop personal skills to foster healthy, efficient communication with future clients.
  • Train to work in specialized notarial law offices, para-public agencies or SMEs, or as a lawyer or notary public in federal, provincial or municipal governments.

Overview of the Master of Laws (LLM) with concentration in Notarial Law

 

Questions on admissions? Email us for more on graduate studies at the Faculty of Law.

 

Jana Farhat

 

 

 

This program focuses on practising law in a healthy environment and provides a structure that really allows students to thrive. The professors really care about us as future alumni, and provide us with a wealth of expertise, anecdotes, and real-world examples. They guide us and encourage us. They give us the tools we need to excel and test our abilities, which forces us to develop certain skills so that we can adapt to what the future has in store for us.

Jana Farhat, Notary Public
Master’s (LL.M.) with Concentration in Notarial Law, Class of ’17


Spotlight on courses:

DCL 5522 
NOTARIAL LAW PLACEMENT (3 credits)

You will be placed in a private law firm or government position one day a week starting in the first term of the program. You will be paired with a placement supervisor who will guide your apprenticeship during which you will handle actual cases that will prepare you for the challenges of the profession. You will also benefit from preparation days and practical work to support your development in a professional setting, with guidance from a Faculty professor who will supervise your progress. You will be required to draft an end-of-term placement report to summarize what you have learned.

DCL 5525 
NEGOTIATION AND PROPERTY TRANSFER (3 credits)

This course will introduce you to the rules of negotiation through case analysis and practical case study. In addition, you will draft documents that deal mainly with pre-contracts and property transfer (agreement to sell, sales contracts, sale of residential buildings, sale of businesses, sale of debts receivable, exchanges, dation in payment, donation, etc.) property appropriation, judicial recognition of right of ownership, applicable tax laws and tax implications, and the restrictions or authorities stemming from specific laws (Act respecting the preservation of agricultural land and agricultural activities, Act respecting the acquisition of farm land by non-residents, Cultural Property Act, Act respecting the Administrative Housing Tribunal).

DCL 5529 
CORPORATE LAW
(3 credits)

You will deepen your knowledge of the rules governing businesses and learn about various financial, corporate, and tax planning strategies through case analysis and practical case study. You will learn how to draft business documents that deal with general partnership constitutions, operations, financing, restructuring, mergers, liquidations ; distributions and appointments of profits, surpluses, goods, or benefits to shareholders; corporations; tax laws and related legislation; commercial leasing.

Back to top

Maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit notarial : soyez au cœur des transactions
essentielles


La maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit notarial est une formation professionnelle fondée sur une approche pédagogique pratique : vous ferez une journée de stage par semaine en milieu professionnel dès votre premier trimestre. Vous aborderez entre autres le droit préventif et la protection du patrimoine par la simulation et l’étude de dossiers plutôt que par la rédaction d’examens, ce qui favorise le développement de la multidisciplinarité.

En suivant le programme de maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit notarial, vous pourrez :

  • Profiter de l’accompagnement personnalisé de notaires expérimentés jusqu’à votre inscription au tableau de l’Ordre de la Chambre des notaires du Québec.
  • Acquérir les compétences et les connaissances juridiques nécessaires à la pratique notariale en droit immobilier, en droit successoral, en droit des affaires et en droit de la famille, entre autres.
  • Découvrir le milieu professionnel et développer les aptitudes relationnelles requises pour une communication saine et efficace avec votre future clientèle.
  • Recevoir une formation pour travailler au sein d’études notariales spécialisées, de compagnies parapubliques ou de PME et occuper des postes de juriste ou de notaire dans l’administration fédérale, provinciale ou municipale.

Aperçu du programme : maîtrise en droit avec concentration en droit notarial

 

Des questions sur l’admission? Écrivez-nous pour en savoir plus sur les études supérieures à la Faculté de droit.

 

Jana Farhat

 

 

 

Le programme, axé sur la pratique, offre un environnement sain et un encadrement qui permet de s’épanouir. Le corps professoral tient à ses futurs diplômés et diplômées, et il leur offre une expertise, des anecdotes et des exemples vécus. On nous oriente et on nous encourage. On nous donne les outils requis pour exceller et l’on met à l’épreuve nos aptitudes, ce qui nous force à développer des habiletés particulières afin de nous adapter à ce que l’avenir nous réserve.

Jana Farhat Notaire
LL.M. avec concentration en droit notarial, promotion de 2017


Cours en vedette :

DCL 5522 
STAGE DE DROIT NOTARIAL (3 crédits)

Vous travaillerez au sein d’une pratique privée ou du gouvernement un jour par semaine dès votre premier trimestre dans le programme. On vous jumellera à une ou un maître de stage qui guidera votre processus d’apprentissage : vous vous pencherez sur des dossiers réels qui vous prépareront à affronter les défis de la profession. Vous vivrez aussi l’expérience de journées préparatoires et de travaux pratiques soutenant votre progression en milieu professionnel, avec l’encadrement d’un professeur ou d’une professeure de la Faculté qui supervisera votre cheminement. Vous devrez rédiger un rapport de stage en fin de trimestre pour récapituler vos apprentissages.

DCL 5525 
NÉGOCIATION ET TRANSFERTS DE PROPRIÉTÉ (3 crédits)

Vous vous initierez aux règles de la négociation par l’analyse de cas et l’étude de dossiers pratiques. De plus, vous rédigerez des actes concernant principalement les avant-contrats, les contrats translatifs de propriété (promesse de vente, vente, vente d’un immeuble à usage d’habitation, vente d’entreprise, vente de créance, échange, dation de paiement, donation, etc.), les patrimoines d’affectation, la reconnaissance judiciaire du droit de propriété, les lois fiscales applicables et les conséquences fiscales et les restrictions ou les autorisations résultant de lois particulières (Loi sur la protection du territoire et des activités agricoles, Loi sur l’acquisition de terres agricoles par des non-résidents, Loi sur les biens culturels, Loi sur la Régie du logement).

DCL 5529 
DROIT DES SOCIÉTÉS
(3 crédits)

Vous approfondirez votre connaissance des règles régissant les sociétés, et vous vous familiariserez avec les diverses planifications fiscales, corporatives et financières par l’analyse de cas et l’étude de dossiers pratiques. Vous apprendrez à rédiger les actes touchant : la constitution, le fonctionnement, le financement, la réorganisation, la fusion et la liquidation des sociétés par actions; la distribution et l’attribution de bénéfices, surplus, biens ou avantages aux actionnaires; les sociétés de personnes; les lois fiscales et lois connexes; et les baux commerciaux.

Haut de page