Kristen Thomasen

Kristen Thomasen

Doctoral student

Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa

 

Biography

Drones have the potential to transform society in a multitude of ways – flying across backyards to deliver packages, spying through apartment windows, challenging security parameters at nuclear plants, offering police an alternative mechanism to apprehend suspects, being shot from the sky for trespassing and causing personal injuries due to mechanical failure and foul play.

Despite their growing prevalence, Canada does not yet have a comprehensive regulatory framework governing the use of drones.

Kristen Thomasen, a University of Ottawa Ph.D. student, is devoting her studies to scrutinizing the privacy implications of the use of this emerging robotic technology in public space.

“How will the law deal with not only the collection of information by drones, but the processing and sharing of that information by the technology? How will information be stored or protected,” Kristen asks. “Is there a risk that information will be used in ways we don’t expect, or want?”

Shortly after completing her Masters degree at the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University, Kristen worked for an Ottawa-based NGO called CANADEM. She helped with humanitarian deployments, including sending lawyers to Afghanistan. The experience spurred her desire to go to law school.

Kristen believed the obvious choice for her studies was the Faculty of Law at the University of Ottawa. She was drawn to its social justice focus, and in particular, the Faculty expertise in law and technology. She soon turned her mind to considering the legal implications of robotic technologies.

“Professor Ian Kerr is the person in Canada doing groundbreaking work on law and robotics. Through his instruction, he opened my eyes to this new area of the law that I’m completely passionate about.”

Kristen was active during her studies, helping with the founding of the Women’s Legal Mentorship Program, doing an Internship at the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta and working as research assistant to Professor Kerr, among other things.

After obtaining her degree, she clerked at the Alberta Court of Queen’s Bench and subsequently at the Supreme Court of Canada for Madame Justice Rosalie Abella, who also became a mentor.

“She inspired me, talking about her own career and how she would take on opportunities to engage, to contribute, to do something positive.”

This helped Kristen choose the next logical step in her career, to embark on her Ph.D. under the supervision of Professor Kerr as a Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholar.

Kristen’s Ph.D. education has been comprehensive. In addition to working on her research project, she co-taught the Law of Contracts with Professor Kerr, an incredibly valuable practical experience for a young academic. She also had the opportunity to assist with major funding applications, developing important skills necessary for all researchers.

“It’s hard to fully express how grateful I am for Ian’s constant support, encouragement, and real sponsorship of me as a future academic. He has been so important to my career.”

Through funding from the Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplement, Kristen also spent the summer of 2016 at the Tilburg Institute for Law and Technology researching how the Netherlands and the European Union are regulating privacy and robotic technologies.

In January, she will realize her career ambitions, becoming an Assistant Professor of Law, Robotics and Society at the Faculty of Law of the University of Windsor.

“I’m focusing on drones and their implications for privacy right now, with plans to broaden my focus to other robotic technologies and artificial intelligence.”

As artificial intelligence progresses and as drones become increasingly autonomous, Kristen Thomasen’s research will undoubtedly help lawmakers and courts find practical solutions to protect our rights.

Back to top

Kristen Thomasen

Kristen Thomasen

Étudiante au doctorat

Faculté de droit
Université d'Ottawa

 

Biographie

Le recours de plus en plus fréquent des drones risque d’affecter nos vies de mille et une façons. Ils ont la capacité de livrer un colis à domicile, d’espionner nos mouvements de la fenêtre de notre appartement ou de détraquer les paramètres de sécurité des centrales nucléaires. Ils peuvent aussi faciliter l’interception d’un criminel ou nous causer des blessures à la suite d’une défaillance mécanique ou d’une erreur de manipulation.

Malgré toutes ces applications potentielles dans l’espace public, le Canada ne possède pas de cadre réglementaire exhaustif en matière de drones.

Kristen Thomason, doctorante en droit à l’Université d’Ottawa, a décidé d’en analyser l’impact sur la vie privée.

« Comment le droit va-t-il encadrer non seulement la collecte des informations recueillies par les drones, mais aussi le traitement et le partage des données ? », se demande Kristen. « Y a-t-il un risque que cette information soit exploitée indûment ? »

Après l’obtention de sa maîtrise à la Norman Paterson School of International Affairs de l’Université Carleton, Kristen a fait du travail humanitaire pour CANADEM, une ONG basée à Ottawa. Elle se chargeait entre autres du déploiement d’avocats en Afghanistan. C’est cette expérience qui l’a amenée à faire des études de droit.

La Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa était un choix logique, pour Kristen. Elle était attirée par son programme de justice sociale et aussi par celui axé sur la technologie. Rapidement, elle s’est intéressée aux incidences juridiques liées à la robotique.

« Le professeur Ian Kerr est “la référence au Canada en ce qui a trait au droit et à la robotique. Son enseignement m’a ouvert les yeux sur ce nouveau domaine pour lequel je me passionne aujourd’hui. »

Pendant ses études, Kristen s’est beaucoup impliquée, que ce soit en participant à la création du Programme de mentorat juridique pour les femmes, en faisant un stage au Bureau de la Commissaire à l’information et la vie privée de l’Alberta et en travaillant comme assistante de recherche pour le professeur Kerr.

Une fois son diplôme obtenu, elle a agi comme auxiliaire juridique à la Cour du Banc de la Reine de l’Alberta et ensuite à la Cour suprême du Canada pour Madame la Juge Rosalie Abella, qui est devenue pour elle un mentor.

« Elle m’a inspiré en me parlant de sa propre carrière et en me recommandant de profiter des occasions qui s’offrent à moi pour contribuer à la société. »

Ses conseils ont incité Kristen à s’inscrire au doctorat et à décrocher la bourse d’études supérieures Joseph-Armand-Bombardier du Conseil de recherches du Canada en sciences humaines. 

Kristen estime que sa formation doctorale lui a permis de se familiariser avec toutes les facettes de la profession. Tout en menant son projet de recherche, elle a co-enseigné le cours de Droit des contrats avec le professeur Kerr. Elle a également eu l’occasion de collaborer aux demandes de subventions, une compétence nécessaire à tout chercheur.

« J’ai du mal à exprimer toute la gratitude que j’éprouve à l’endroit d’Ian qui m’a prodigué conseils et encouragements tout au long de mes études. Il a joué un rôle crucial dans ma carrière. »

Grâce au supplément pour études à l’étranger Michael-Smith, Kristen a passé l’été 2016 à l’Institut Tilburg pour le droit et la technologie. Elle a examiné comment les Pays-Bas et l’Europe réglementent la robotique et la vie privée.

En janvier prochain, Kristen réalisera l’une de ses ambitions en joignant le corps professoral de la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Windsor où elle enseignera le cours de Droit, robotique et société.

« Je vais concentrer mon enseignement sur les drones et leurs conséquences sur la vie privée dans le but éventuellement d’aborder les technologies innovantes et l’intelligence artificielle. »

Les avancées technologiques obligeront nos députés à légiférer pour protéger nos droits. Les recherches et l’expertise Kristen Thomason leur procureront sûrement des pistes de solutions.

 

 

Haut de page