David Hughes

Alex Trebek Postdoctoral Fellow

Faculty of Law, Common Law Section
University of Ottawa

 

dhughes3@uottawa.ca

 

Biography

David Hughes has been recruited as part of the collaborative research project “Changing Orders: Shaping the Future and Securing Rights in a World in Transformation” (https://www.cips-cepi.ca/changing-orders-shaping-the-future-and-securing-rights-in-a-world-in-transformation/), funded by the Alex Trebek Forum for Dialogue and awarded to the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC), the Refugee Hub, the Institute for Science, Society and Policy (ISSP) and the Centre for International Policy Studies (CIPS).

He will work under the supervision of HRREC Director, Professor John Packer, and Refugee Hub’s Managing Director, Professor Jennifer Bond, to study how to secure fundamental human rights in the face of challenges to the rules-based international order.

David holds a Ph.D. from Osgoode Hall Law School. From 2017-2019, David was a Grotius Research Scholar at the University of Michigan Law School where he researched and wrote about various topics in international law, foreign relations law, and about the ways various legal orders interact. The resulting publications appear or are forthcoming in several legal journals including the European Journal of International Law, the Melbourne Journal of International Law, the Vanderbilt Journal of Transnational Law, and the British Yearbook of International Law. Prior to beginning his doctoral work, David earned an LL.M from University College London, an LL.B from the University of Leicester, and a BA from Queen’s University. After law school, David worked at the Council of Europe, in various roles for the UN High Commissioner for Refugees, and with a coalition of Israeli and Palestinian NGOs in East Jerusalem.

Click here to see David’s publications.

Back to top

David Hughes

Stagiaire postdoctoral Alex Trebek

Faculté de droit, Section de common law
Université d’Ottawa

 

dhughes3@uottawa.ca

 

Biographie

David a été recruté dans le cadre du nouveau projet de recherche collaboratif « Changing Orders: Shaping the Future and Securing Rights in a World in Transformation (Changement de l’ordre : façonner l’avenir et garantir les droits dans un monde en transformation) », dont le financement par le Forum pour le dialogue Alex-Trebek a été octroyé au Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP), au Carrefour des réfugiés, à l'Institut de recherche sur la science, la société et la politique publique (ISSP) et au Centre d'études en politiques internationales (CÉPI).

Il travaillera (virtuellement pour commencer!) sous la supervision du directeur du CREDP, professeur John Packer, et de la directrice générale du Carrefour des réfugiés, professeure Jennifer Bond, pour étudier comment garantir les droits fondamentaux de la personne face aux défis de l'ordre international fondé sur des règles.

David détient un doctorat de la Osgoode Hall Law School. De 2017 à 2019, David a été chercheur Grotius à la faculté de droit de l’Université du Michigan où il a écrit sur divers sujets de droit international. Les publications qui en résultent paraissent ou sont à paraître dans plusieurs revues juridiques, notamment le Melbourne Journal of International Law, le Vanderbilt Journal of Transnational Law et le British Yearbook of International Law. Avant de commencer ses études au doctorat, David a obtenu un LL.M de l'University College London, un LL.B de l'Université de Leicester et une licence de l'Université Queen's. Après ses études de droit, David a travaillé au Conseil de l'Europe, dans diverses fonctions pour le Haut-Commissariat des Nations unies pour les réfugiés, et avec une coalition d'ONG israéliennes et palestiniennes à Jérusalem-Est.

Cliquez ici pour voir les publications de David.

Haut de page