Alexandre Genest

Doctoral student

Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa

 

Biography

Canada's prosperity since Confederation has depended on international trade. The country requires highly skilled trade specialists to guarantee that economic growth.

Alexandre Genest will soon figure among those experts. He is completing a Ph. D. in international law through the cotutelle doctoral program at the University of Ottawa and Leiden University in the Netherlands.

He chose the Faculty of Law of Fauteux Hall in the summer of 2011. Alexandre was working at the division of services and investment law in Global Affairs Canada when a colleague praised the doctoral program of the University of Ottawa. He invited him to get in contact with Professor Patrick Dumberry, a public international law specialist, who responded rapidly to his email. 

That quick acknowledgement was key in his decision to study at University of Ottawa.

“To see pro-active professors and a pro-active administration, it is extremely encouraging,” he said. “Marie-Eve Sylvestre, who was vice-dean of Graduate Studies at the time, responded to all my questions and prompted me to apply. It created a very exciting atmosphere, very reassuring.” 

Alexandre is leading research under the supervision of Professor Dumberry on performance requirements prohibition in international investment law. He is combing through articles from international treaties forbidding signatories to impose restrictions on investors. These restrictions might include local hiring, purchasing of local goods and services or an obligation to export production.

“I created a sampling by looking at the practice of six states which signed more than 400 investment or free-trade treaties. Half of them included performance requirements prohibition. In many cases, they cut and pasted previous clauses without evaluating their impact.”

These practices might complicate the arbitration of a dispute, according to the Ph. D. student. He hopes that his research sheds some light for treaties arbitrators and drafters on the specific meaning of these dispositions and their impact.

Will he become one of these arbitrators in the future? Alexandre cannot say for the moment. He is as much interested in the university environment as he is in the practice of law. He has gone from one domain to the other a few times. 

He started his career at Davies Ward Phillips and Vineberg in 2007 and then went to France to complete a diploma in Public Administration at the École national dadministration as well as a Masters degree in Public Affairs at the Université Paris-Dauphine. This is where he discovered his passion for research.

“It was a program of a practical nature and to my surprise, it was the theoretical aspect and the research that pleased me more.”

It is not surprising to see him complete his doctorate with success after being awarded several scholarships including the prestigious Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council.

“The Graduate Studies office of the Faculty is providing support to scholarship applicants,” he said. “Some candidates are given an admission scholarship that helps pay tuition. It also assigns research assistant positions. These contributions are significant because external doctoral scholarships are generally payed only in the second year of the doctorate.”

Alexandre is putting the finishing touches on his thesis after clerking for Justice Peter Tomka of the International Law Tribunal in The Hague. He is now ready for a new challenge.

Back to top

Alexandre Genest

Diplômé du Doctorat en droit (2018)

Faculté de droit
Université d'Ottawa

 

Biographie

Le Canada dépend de la vitalité de ses échanges internationaux pour assurer sa prospérité. Il doit donc pouvoir compter sur des experts du commerce international pour garantir sa croissance économique.

Alexandre Genest figurera bientôt parmi ces experts. Il complète en ce moment un doctorat en droit international grâce à une cotutelle de l’Université d’Ottawa et l’Université de Leiden, aux Pays-Bas.

Il a arrêté son choix sur la Faculté de droit du Pavillon Fauteux au cours de l’été 2011. Alexandre travaillait alors à la division du droit des services et des investissements d’Affaires mondiales Canada lorsqu’un collègue lui a vanté le programme doctoral de l’Université d’Ottawa. Il l’a aussi enjoint à prendre contact avec le professeur Patrick Dumberry, un spécialiste du droit international public, qui a répondu rapidement à son courriel. Il n’en fallait pas plus pour le conforter dans sa décision.

« Voir des professeurs proactifs et une administration proactive, c’est extrêmement encourageant, dit-il. Marie-Eve Sylvestre, qui était alors vice-doyenne des études supérieures, a répondu à mes questions et m’a encouragé à postuler. Ça a créé un effet d’entrain très enthousiasmant et très rassurant pour la suite. »

Sous la supervision du professeur Dumberry, Alexandre mène ses recherches sur les interdictions de prescriptions de résultats en droit international des investissements. Il décortique les articles de traités internationaux interdisant à l’un ou l’autre des signataires d’imposer des restrictions aux investisseurs. Parmi ces restrictions, on compte, par exemple, l’embauche locale, l’achat de produits et services locaux ou l’obligation d’exporter la totalité de la production.

« J’ai créé un échantillonnage en m’attardant à la pratique de six États qui ont conclu plus de 400 traités d’investissement ou de libre-échange et dont près de la moitié inclut des interdictions de prescriptions de résultats. Dans bien des cas, on a fait du copier-coller de clauses antérieures sans en évaluer les tenants et aboutissants. »

Il s’agit-là d’une pratique qui, selon le doctorant, risque de compliquer l’arbitrage d’un litige. Il espère donc que ses recherches éclairent autant les arbitres que les rédacteurs de traités sur la signification spécifique de ces dispositions et leur impact.

Occupera-t-il l’une ou l’autre de ces fonctions dans l’avenir ? Alexandre ne saurait le dire. Il s’intéresse autant au milieu universitaire qu’à la pratique du droit. Il a alterné entre ces deux univers à plus d’une reprise.

Il a débuté sa carrière chez Davies Ward Phillips et Vineberg en 2007 pour ensuite se rendre en France compléter un Diplôme d’administration publique à l’École nationale d’administration, puis un Master en Affaires publiques à l’Université Paris-Dauphine. C’est là qu’il a découvert sa passion pour la recherche.

« Il s’agissait d’un programme à vocation pratique et à ma surprise, c’était le volet théorique et la recherche qui me plaisaient davantage. »

Pas étonnant de le voir maintenant terminer son doctorat avec succès, après avoir décroché plusieurs bourses, dont la prestigieuse Bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines.

« Le Bureau des études supérieures en droit et la Faculté offrent un soutien très important lors de la préparation des demandes de bourses, ajoute-t-il. Le Bureau accorde dans certains cas des bourses d’admission qui aident au paiement des frais de scolarité. Il attribue aussi des postes d’assistant de recherche. Cet appui est significatif, car les bourses doctorales externes ne sont généralement versées qu’à la deuxième année du doctorat. »

Alexandre peaufine maintenant sa thèse après avoir terminé un stage auprès du juge Peter Tomka de la Cour internationale de justice de La Haye. Il se dit fin prêt pour un nouveau défi, quel qu’il soit.

 

Haut de page