Adam Rainis Houston

Adam Rainis Houston

Doctoral student

Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa

 

Biography

For Adam Rainis Houston, thinking about a problem is inextricably linked to taking practical steps to resolve it.

Only two weeks after starting his Ph. D studies at the University of Ottawa, he came across an extreme price hike on an important off-patent tuberculosis drug. Together with his new colleagues and his supervisor, Professor Amir Attaran, they drew international attention to the issue. It helped spark a 90% rollback of the price increase to complement their peer-reviewed article on how to prevent similar trolling of other critical off-patent medicines in the future.

Adam’s work revolves around health law, human rights, and globalization. These issues have nourished his curiosity throughout his studies as well as his involvement with different organizations.

“I was always interested about the broader systemic questions where you aren’t necessary asking yourself: How do I apply the rule for my particular client? I prefer to take a more expansive angle, while realizing that at the international level, there aren’t a lot of rules and sometimes, the rules are part of the problem. I’m interested in solutions to the underlying issues.”

He engaged with such issues first hand while he worked for the Pacific Islands AIDS Foundation in the South Pacific and again in Cape Town, where he worked with Treatment Action Campaign during the development of South Africa’s first National Strategic Plan to integrate the responses to HIV and tuberculosis. Addressing the unequal treatment, particularly from a human rights perspective, of persons with these diseases – glaring for the many people infected with both – also formed the basis for his Masters thesis in Global Development Studies at Queen’s University.

After a stint working with Avocats sans frontières Canada, and completing his LL.M. in Health Law (Global Health and Justice) at the University of Washington, he soon embarked on another case bringing together global health and human rights. He joined the Institute for Justice and Democracy in Haiti in its landmark litigation against the United Nations, after UN peacekeepers introduced a cholera epidemic that has killed over 9300 people and sickened close to 800,000 more.

“Having rules is important but following the rules is what brought me to the cholera case. You’ve got the organization that is supposed to protect and promote human rights and the rule of law. But you’re obviously going to be ineffective at promoting the rule of law if the people you’re telling that to look out the window and see you’re ignoring it yourself.”

While he is still committed to this case, for his doctoral work he is turning his attention towards the growing global epidemic of non-communicable disease (NCDs) such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease..

“NCDs are a massive global issue – yet many people are still shocked to learn more people worldwide are overweight than underweight. And in places like Canada, where we’ve faced these challenges far longer than many other countries, we still haven’t come up with effective responses. This is a global problem, and we need to be looking for global solutions.”

Adam has chosen to study at the University of Ottawa for a few reasons. One of the main draws is its bilingual character.

“There is a whole other half of expertise ‘en français’ and I like the fact that both legal systems are taught here. You can tap into all that expertise.”

Another is to work with Prof. Amir Attaran with whom he shares views on enacting changes.

“He is not afraid to take the occasional controversial stance. He is someone who believes that getting things done isn’t about sitting in the proverbial ivory tower and periodically sending out a paper.”

Ultimately, Adam believes laws are tools for change. This means teaching others how to use those tools, and improving the contents of the toolbox to ensure they are adequate to the task at hand in a world with plenty of room for building change.

 

Back to top

Adam Rainis Houston

Adam Rainis Houston

Étudiant au doctorat

Faculté de droit
Université d'Ottawa

 

Biographie

Adam Rainis Houston cherche à résoudre les problèmes en restant pratique.

Deux semaines après le début de ses études doctorales à l’Université d’Ottawa, il constate la hausse exponentielle du prix d’un médicament générique contre la tuberculose. Avec ses nouveaux collègues et son superviseur, le professeur Amir Attaran, il dénonce cette pratique peu scrupuleuse de la compagnie pharmaceutique qui bât en retraite et réduit l’augmentation du prix de 90 %. Ensemble, ils publient un article révisé par les pairs sur la façon de restreindre dans l’avenir les chasseurs de brevets lors d’acquisition de médicaments génériques.

Les recherches d’Adam portent sur le droit de la santé, les droits de la personne et la mondialisation. Ces domaines ont piqué sa curiosité tout au cours de ses études et l’ont motivé à s’impliquer sur le terrain.

« J’ai toujours été intéressé par les grands enjeux systémiques. Je ne me demande pas comment il faut appliquer la règle pour un seul client. Je préfère m’attaquer à des problèmes plus vastes, tout en étant conscient qu’au niveau international, il n’y a pas beaucoup de règles et que parfois, elles font partie du problème. Je m’intéresse aux solutions de problèmes sous-jacents. »

Il a rencontré ce genre de situation en travaillant pour la Pacific Islands AIDS Foundation de même que pour Treatment Action Campaign qui développait le premier plan stratégique sud-africain pour s’attaquer au sida et à la tuberculose. Sa thèse de maîtrise en Études du développement mondial à l’Université Queen’s est basée sur le traitement inégal des personnes affligées par ces maladies, parfois les deux en même temps, d’une perspective des droits de la personne.

Après quelques mois passés au sein d’Avocats sans frontière Canada et après avoir complété un LL.M. en droit de la santé (santé mondiale et justice) à l’Université de Washington, il a embrassé une autre cause impliquant la santé mondiale et les droits humains. Il s’est joint à l’Institut pour la justice et la démocratie en Haïti dans sa poursuite judiciaire contre les Nations Unies parce que des Casques bleus ont provoqué une épidémie de choléra qui a fait au moins 9 300 morts et rendu malade près de 800 000 personnes.

« Avoir des lois et des règlements est important, mais les respecter l’est encore plus et c’est ce qui m’a amené à défendre cette cause. Vous avez ici une organisation qui est chargée de protéger et de promouvoir les droits humains et la primauté du droit. Mais vous serez inefficace à promouvoir la primauté du droit si les gens constatent que vous l’ignorez. »

Adam continue de défendre cette cause en plus de concentrer ses études doctorales sur une nouvelle épidémie mondiale, celle des maladies non transmissibles (MNT), comme l’obésité, le diabète et les maladies cardio-vasculaires.

« Les MNT représentent un enjeu mondial d’envergure. Les gens s’étonnent d’apprendre qu’il y a plus d’obèses dans le monde que de personnes faméliques. Le Canada traite ces maladies depuis longtemps, et pourtant nous ne sommes pas encore arrivés à trouver des stratégies adéquates. C’est un problème mondial et nous avons besoin de solutions mondiales. »

Adam a choisi d’étudier à l’Université pour plusieurs raisons, mais le bilinguisme a été un élément clé.

« Il y a toute une expertise “en français” et j’aime aussi le fait qu’on y enseigne les deux systèmes juridiques. Il y a là une expertise substantielle. »

Il est aussi venu pour travailler avec le professeur Amir Attaran avec qui il partage sa façon de provoquer le changement.

« Il n’a pas peur d’adopter des positions controversées. Il est de ceux qui croient que pour arriver à faire bouger la société on ne doit pas rester dans sa tour d’ivoire à écrire un article de temps à autre. »

Ultimement, Adam croit que les lois sont des outils de changement. Il importe à ses yeux d’enseigner comment les utiliser adéquatement et de les améliorer pour répondre aux besoins d’un monde où il y a toujours place à amélioration.

 

Haut de page