Admission to the LLM

Candidates to the LL.M. are admitted on the basis of the quality of their complete application file.  Important elements considered by the Admission Committee include, but are not necessarily limited to, academic achievement, relevant professional experience, subject area of interest, research proposal submitted and language ability. 

Eligibility for admission

 

To be considered for admission to the master of laws (LL.M.) program, applicants must have an undergraduate law degree from a Canadian university with an average of at least 70 % (B), calculated in accordance with the Office of the Vice-Provost, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies guidelines, or an equivalent foreign law degree with comparable results. Particular attention is paid to relevant legal experience, prior research and letters of reference.

Applicants who have not studied in French or in English must also provide proof of sufficient aptitude to study at an advanced level in French or in English.

Application Deadline

The application deadline for all LL.M. programs is March 1 of the same calendar year in which admission is sought.  By the deadline, the Graduate Studies in Law office at the Faculty of Law must have received both the completed on-line application form and all supporting documents . 
 Please note, all LL.M. admission is for September only.

Where to Send the Application

Applications for admission, along with all supporting documents, must be sent to:

Graduate Studies in Law
Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa
57, Louis-Pasteur,
Room 301,
Ottawa, ON. K1N 6N5
CANADA
 

University of Ottawa Admission Scholarship

All eligible candidates are considered for a University of Ottawa Admission Scholarship on the basis of their application for admission to the LL.M.  For full information about the University of Ottawa Admission Scholarship, please consult the Office of the Vice-Provost, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies website.

Other Scholarships

Candidates interested in applying for scholarships other than the University of Ottawa Admission Scholarship should verify the specific deadline for each scholarship and submit their file in accordance with that deadline.  For more information about scholarships that are administered through the University of Ottawa or the Faculty of Law, please consult the "Financials" heading on this website.

Back to top

Admission (LL.M.)

Les candidats qui font demande au programme de maîtrise en droit sont admis sur une évaluation de la qualité de l'ensemble de leur dossier de demande d'admission.  L'excellence scolaire, l'expérience professionnelle pertinente, le domaine de recherche, la qualité de la proposition de mémoire/thèse ainsi que l'aptitude linguisitique du candidat sont parmi les éléments évalués par le Comité d'admission.

Admissibilité

Pour être admissible au programme de maîtrise en droit (LL.M.), il doit détenir un diplôme de premier cycle en droit d'une université canadienne obtenu avec une moyenne  minimale de 70%  (B) calculée selon les directives du Cabinet du vice-provost aux études supérieures et postdoctorales, ou d'un diplôme étranger équivalent en droit avec des résultats jugés comparable. Une attention spéciale est accordée à l’expérience en milieu juridique, à la recherche déjà accomplie et aux lettres de recommandation.

De plus, les candidats n'ayant étudié ni en français ni en anglais doivent fournir une preuve d'aptitude linguistique qui démontre la capacité de poursuivre des études avancées soit en français soit en anglais.

Date limite

La date de limite pour déposer une candidature en vue d’une admission pour les programmes de maîtrise est le 1er mars de la même année calendrier dans laquelle le candidat désire s'inscrire. 

Veuillez noter, que toute admission au programme de maîtrise est pour le mois de septembre. 

Où envoyer sa demande d'admission

Les demandes d'admission et tous les documents à l'appui doivent parvenir à :

Études supérieures en droit
Faculté de droit
Université d'Ottawa
57, rue Louis-Pasteur,
Bureau 301, 
Ottawa, ON. K1N 6N5
CANADA
 

La bourse d'admission de l'Université d'Ottawa

Tout candidat eligible sera considéré pour une Bourse d'admission de l'Université d'Ottawa sur la base de sa demande d'admission au programme de maîtrise.  Pour tout renseignement concernant la Bourse d'admission de l'Université d'Ottawa, veuillez consulter le site web du Cabinet du vice-provost aux études supérieures et postdoctorales.

Autres bourses

Les personnes qui désirent obtenir une bourse autre que la Boursed'admission de l'Université d'Ottawa doivent vérifier les dates de tombée de celles-ci et s’assurer que leur demande soit déposée à l’intérieur des délais prévus.   Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la rubrique "Finances" sur ce site.

Haut de page